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Expungement Instructions 
 
The Petition and top portion of the Order must be completed in their entirety.  You must also attach a 
Pennsylvania State Police Background check ACCESS AND REVIEW (ATTACHED).  PSP charges a fee for this 
service. The background check must be dated within 60 days of the date you file your Petition and Order with the Clerk 
of Courts.       
  
If you do not provide a Pennsylvania State Police background check, your expungement request may be denied.   

 
If the case was completed at the Lower Court (District Justice), please provide a Disposition Sheet/OTN Sheet.  These 
documents can be obtained from the District Judge’s Office that handled your case.  If you were placed on the ARD 
Program by a District Judge and have a Certificate of Completion, please provide a copy of that, as well.   
 
If the case is at the Common Pleas Court, the Clerk of Courts can provide you with a Docket Sheet.         

 
The Petition and top portion of the Order must be filled out completely and correctly or the Petition will be 
rejected.  You must list the reason(s) for requesting the expungement.  You may attach any additional information 
and/or reasons for requesting the expungement on a separate sheet of paper, if necessary.  
 
Please note:  Handwriting must be legible.  If your expungement is granted, these documents will be sent to 
reporting agencies advising them to destroy their records regarding your case.  If those agencies cannot read the 
information you provide on your Petition and Order, your expungement could be delayed and/or incomplete.  
 
With regard to the question on the Order regarding whether your case qualifies under 18 Pa.C.S.A. §9122(a)(3), if the 
case to be expunged was a violation of Pa.C.S.18 §6308 (relating to purchase, consumption, possession, or 
transportation of liquor or malt or brewed beverages) that occurred when the defendant was between the ages of 18 
and 21, and the defendant is now over the age of 21, you should check the YES box Otherwise, you should check the 
NO box. 
 
Once you complete the Petition & Order and attach all necessary documentation, you must file it with the Clerk of 
Courts at the above address and pay any applicable filing fee.  Please be aware that this is a very lengthy process.  
There are several specific rules, timelines, and procedures that have to be followed and involve local, state, and 
federal agencies. You will receive notification and/or copies pertaining to the expungement when it is either granted or 
denied.    

 
Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to call the Office of the Clerk of Courts at 
814.451.6221.    
 
The Petition for Expungement and Order forms are available in the Office of the Clerk of Courts and on the Erie 
County website at: http://www.eriecountygov.org/county-services/records/criminal-records.aspx .  There are different 
petitions for summary (Rule 490) and criminal (Rule 790) cases.  If summary offenses are joined with misdemeanor or 
felony offenses, the case must be treated as a criminal case. 
 
To obtain Dockets Sheets online, you can go to http://ujsportal.pacourts.us 
The Docket Sheets are accessible to the public on the UJS Portal under Docket Sheets → 
Magisterial District Courts or Common Pleas Court. 
 
**PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT PENNDOT DOES NOT EXPUNGE RECORDS.   
 
**THERE IS A $132.00 FILING FEE PER EACH EXPUNGEMENT FILED. 
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