
Marriage Licenses 
 
What do I need to know before obtaining a marriage license? 

• Applicants MUST be at least 18 years of age. 
• Licenses are valid for 60 days from the issue date. 
• Marriage licenses are valid on the third day following application.  For example, if 

you apply for a license on Wednesday, your license is valid on Saturday. 
• Blood relatives down to and including first cousins may not marry under 

Pennsylvania law. 
• A marriage license issued in Erie County can be used in any other county in 

Pennsylvania, but not in any other state 
 

Types of Marriage Licenses 
• Traditional marriage licenses. A traditional license requires an officiant to 

perform the marriage ceremony. In Pennsylvania, only certain people can 
perform a marriage ceremony. If you choose to be married by someone who 
is not qualified under 23 Pa C.S.A. §1503, you will be responsible for proving 
the legality of the marriage.  See [link for Disclaimer of Liability] for further 
information. 

• Self-uniting (Quaker) marriage license. A self-uniting marriage license does 
not require an officiant to perform the ceremony.  You will need two 
witnesses to sign the return of marriage and marriage license. 

  
 Documents needed to apply for marriage license 

• Both applicants must provide a current, valid photo ID.  Acceptable forms of 
ID include: 
• Driver’s license 
• State-issued photo ID 
• U.S. or international passports 
• Military ID 
 

Previous marriages  
• If either applicant was previously married, they must prove that they are no 

longer married at the time of their application.  You must provide your latest 
divorce decree.  If either applicant has resumed a maiden name following the 
divorce, the applicant must submit proof of resuming his/her maiden name.  

• If either applicant’s prior marriage was terminated by death, you must 
provide the death certificate or at least a photocopy of the death certificate of 
your former spouse. 



• Death certificates and divorce decrees must be in English. If the original 
documents are in another language, they must be translated and certified as 
accurate. 
 

The Marriage Application Process: 
Completing the Application 
There are two different ways to complete a marriage license application.  The application 
can be filed online or in person.  It is important to note that the results of this application 
become legal documentation. It is very important that you proofread your responses very 
carefully. 
 
 To apply online:   

1. Applicants MUST have a valid email and phone number.  
2. Applicants MUST have access to internet.   
3. Applicants MUST have access to a printer and scanner.  
4. Applicants MUST pay the $65.00 fee online using a credit/debit card ($60.00 for 

the marriage application and $5.00 for one certified copy, which will be mailed 
to you). 

5. Applicants MUST upload all the necessary documents in PDF format:  
a. Applicants MUST upload a valid photo ID to verify their identity 
b. Applicants MUST upload a copy of a divorce decree or death certificate, if 

applicable.   
6. Applicants MUST be able to read, speak and understand the English language. If 

you need an interpreter, please call the office to schedule an in-person 
appointment. You may NOT interpret for your fiancé.  

7. Please visit https://courtpro.eriecountypa.gov/row/MarriageLicense to apply online. 
Once you are at the site, click, “Login as Guest” then, “e-file Marriage Application.    

8. If your application was submitted correctly and accepted by the Marriage 
Bureau, your credit/debit card will be charged and you will receive an email 
with a link to schedule your in-person appointment to review and sign your 
application. 

 
To apply in person: 
1. Applications are by appointment only, Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 

12:00 pm or 2:00-3:30 pm.  Contact us at (814) 451-6347 to make an 
appointment. 

2. Both applicants must appear together at the time of the appointment. 
3. Bring valid photo ID, the $65.00 filing fee ($60 for application and $5.00 for one 

certified copy), we will only accept cash or card, and any supporting documents 
(divorce decree, proof of resuming prior name, etc.) 

4. You will receive your marriage license at the end of your visit and it will remain 
valid for 60 days from the issue date.   

https://courtpro.eriecountypa.gov/row/MarriageLicense


 
Obtaining a Copy of a Marriage Record: 
To obtain a copy of your marriage record and/or certified copy, supply the following 
information, either in person or by mail: 

• Both applicant’s first, middle, last names, including maiden names 
• Date of marriage 
• In the alternative, you can print the request form at [link to request form]. 
• A check or money order payable to “Clerk of Records”. Certified copies of a 

marriage record are $5.00 each and long form certified records (generally used for 
dual citizenship) are $15.00 each. 

• If you are send the request by mail, send the above information, check or money 
order, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to: 

 Marriage Bureau 
Erie County Courthouse 
140 West 6th Street, Room 123 
Erie, PA 16501 

 
Fee schedule: 

• Download the latest [link to fee schedule] for the Marriage Bureau. 
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